The County Assemblies Overview

There are 47 counties in Kenya. The counties were brought to existence by the 2010 Constitution of Kenya. The 47 units of devolved government are anchored in article 191 and 192 of the Constitution. These counties were created to bring power and resources closer to people. Kenya is a single unitary state, though the 47 units are semi-autonomous with each county having an executive governor and its own local assembly.